Key people

The Nuclear AMRC is owned by the University of Sheffield, but overseen by our industrial partner companies on a consortium basis. Operations are headed by the executive team of directors. Strategy and research areas are determined with the guidance of the board of member companies.


Andrew Storer, chief executive officer
Andrew Storer is responsible for leadership and strategy of the Nuclear AMRC. He joined as managing director in 2015 from Rolls-Royce, where he was programme director of the civil nuclear business, and was appointed chief executive from August 2017.

Professor Steve Jones, chief technology officer
Steve Jones is responsible for the Nuclear AMRC’s technology strategy to ensure the centre delivers innovative and valuable technical solutions to the UK supply chain. He joined in September 2017 from Coventry University’s Advanced Manufacturing and Engineering Institute.

Jay Shaw, business development & programme director
Jay Shaw joined the Nuclear AMRC’s machining group in 2010, becoming head of machining before moving to business development. He is responsible for growing the Nuclear AMRC business, and for ensuring that the centre;s projects deliver the maximum value to the UK supply chain.



David Orr, Rolls-Royce (chair)
Marc Duret
, Framatome UK
Lindsay Roche
, Westinghouse UK
Stephen Burgess
, Rolls-Royce
Graham Honeyman
, Sheffield Forgemasters
Bart Simpson, Autodesk
Jonathan Brown, Cammell Laird
Angus Fielden, Hexagon Metrology
Simon Plumtree, ITW Welding Group
Ron Gorham, NDA
Neil Smart, Sellafield Ltd
Lee Scott, Starrag Group
Martin Burnham, IFA (Tier Two representative)

Chris Squires, EDF Energy
Tim Davies, Hitachi-GE
George Pritchard, Horizon Nuclear Power
Stephen Shackleford, NNL
Neil Irvine, Dalton Nuclear Institute
Graham Wren, University of Strathclyde
Campbell Kier, DIT
Graham Heys, ONR